press release - 04271701

Sheriff Bill Brown Sworn in as CSSA President by Governor Jerry Brown


Sheriff Bill Brown Sworn in as CSSA President by Governor Jerry Brown




CSSA Officers with Governor Jerry Brown


CSSA Officers with Governor Jerry Brown


Sheriff Bill Brown Installed as President of the California State Sheriffs' Association


Santa Barbara - April 27th, 2017


Santa Barbara County Sheriff Bill Brown is the new President of the California State Sheriffs’ Association (CSSA). CSSA is a non-profit organization made up Sheriffs from the 58 counties in California and includes thousands of citizens who are associate members. Last night, April 26, 2017, CSSA held its 123rd annual conference installation banquet at the Fess Parker Resort in Santa Barbara where California Governor Jerry Brown swore in the new CSSA 2017-2018 slate of officers. 


Sheriff Bill Brown moved up the ranks of the organization and was sworn in as President after previously serving as the First Vice President.  He first became a CSSA officer five years ago when he was elected by his peers as the Sergeant-at-Arms.  Sheriff Brown is also the only CSSA President who is also a former past president of the California Police Chiefs Association which is a position he held in 2005 when he was the Chief of Police for the Lompoc Police Department.


In his acceptance speech, Sheriff Brown said he is deeply honored to hold this position.  He said, “I want to thank my colleagues, the Sheriffs of the Golden State. To be selected and elected by your peers is something I consider to be one of the greatest honors anyone can receive and I will always be grateful for it.” 


Sheriff Brown also addressed the need for CSSA to continue its history of being at the forefront of issues facing law enforcement.  He said, “We must continue to thoughtfully engage and drive positive change in regards to issues facing law enforcement and corrections.”


The California State Sheriffs’ Association 2017-18 slate of officers is as follows:


President: Sheriff Bill Brown, Santa Barbara County

1st Vice President: Sheriff Steve Moore, San Joaquin County

2nd Vice President: Sheriff David Livingston, Contra Costa County

Secretary: Sheriff David Robinson, Kings County

Treasurer: Sheriff Dean Growdon, Lassen County

Sergeant–at–Arms: Sheriff Kory Honea, Butte County

Immediate Past President: Sheriff Donny Youngblood, Kern County


CSSA was created in 1894 as a way for the chief law enforcement officer in each county to communicate and share information with each other. The goal of the organization is to speak as a collective voice on matters of public safety and to improve the delivery of law enforcement services to the citizens of California.

For Media Inquires Contact PIO Kelly Hoover


Business Hours: (805) 681-4100

Copyright 2017 Santa Barbara County Sheriff's Office, All Rights Reserved